Shopping, or shopping for a deal?

Sale-450x450

Are we (shopping addicts) justifying purchases because we are getting some kind of discount? The answer in my case is YES. In the retail world, discount retailers are so ahead right now. Every consumer wants to feel like they have saved money, but are still getting the product they want. Stores like Burlington, T.J. Maxx, Marshalls, and Nordstrom Rack have capitalized on this and are drawing in customers based on the notion that when you walk into their stores, you will be ultimately saving money and getting products you love.

Truthfully, ever since I worked at an off-price retailer, I have been on a bargain hunt. I still adore splurging on something I feel I MUST have, but I know that there is a way to get the products you desire, for less. This excludes some things obviously- like I know I am not going to waltz into a Burlington and find a Chanel bag (maybe one day!)

Rather, I am talking about everyday purchases. Even if you are spending hundreds of dollars at these discount retailers, you justify it in your mind by saying “ well at least I didn’t go to Bloomingdales and spend more!” or “I got multiple items for the price I might have spent on one item at Saks!” Even when Free People or Zara offer a certain percent off, I feel like I NEED to buy something just because an offer is on the table that I don’t want to miss, even if I really don’t need anything.

Recently I have been trying to learn to shop wisely, rather than just shop because I love something and want it that second. This is mainly because I want to save and maybe move out before I am 30, MAYBE ;). This post is more of a realization that I have to stop spending just to spend and also a realization that retailers are geniuses by offering discounted goods and flash sales. Aka, their marketing and advertising methods are working and drawing me in.

I want to know your thoughts. Do you buy things on sale solely because they are on sale? Are you a bargain hunter or do you just buy what you want regardless of the price?

 

XO Mackenzie

Leave a comment